More on blogging for money …

Mmmm…. maybe one day… I think I’m on to day 5 on my recent quest for riches or “followers” though the medium of blogging. I have one further follower today (thank you, Kathryn) and several requests to confirm my entry into numerous competition and “freebie” sites. Sure, making money without having to do anything sounds great… but quite dubious… and, as I’ve already found, do rather load up my inbox (and Spam filter!). Anyway, I’ll deal with that shortly…

In the meantime let’s see what my friendly “Stuff”article tells me about blogging for money… I need to find a brand who values my opinion… oh… on what?? Does that mean I must blog about nappies, or make-up, or tools, or food, or …. Sounds like advertising under another name to me! I guess a Christian marketer might like my “Reflections & Meditations” tag (or is that ‘category’?)… wonderful! Or a specific DIY or building supplies firm could like my “Home Restorations” tag/category… Is this how it works?

One thing I wouldn’t like to become is an advertising blog… promotions can run alongside (if I ever get to that point!) and that, I see, is what is called “Affiliate marketing”. The blogger makes a percentage (a very small percentage, I believe) when readers buy from an advertisement included in or beside a blog.

But apparently sponsored content is the most common way for blogs to make money.  Now this is advertising and, as I said, I don’t think I want to go down that track. I could, as my “stuff” article suggests, sell products or services … that would take time and resources…

I have just read about a blogger who, after three years of blogging, now has more than 120,000 followers on Facebook. She endorses my thoughts that blogging is about writing, anything else comes second. That’s what I want to hear!

So, enough about blogging for money for now.  I’ll certainly post a blog if I do make any money but in the meantime it’s on with my other tags or categories or posts or whatever they are called… now I am really proving my “noviceness” aren’t I!!

