Restoration 101 – 11 – Covering the black

Now the kitchen has been installed and making life so much less cluttered I thought it was time to cover the exposed black beams scattered throughout the house.  They are on every level and must have been a fashion statement back in the 1970s when the house was built.  But, for us, they definitely must go – the blackness of them, that is.

Black beams and trims
Black beams and trims

We hadn’t decided on colour schemes at this stage so all beams were just undercoated in white.  What a difference!  No longer was the eye immediately drawn upwards to these imposing black stripes across each ceiling.  The worst part of this job was masking the surrounding timber ceilings.  It had been suggested that we paint these also, but Jim & I are both fans of natural timber so that suggestion was quickly discarded. Being vertically challenged made the job just a little more difficult, also, as I had to climb one or two more rungs of the ladder many times while painting even one beam (other folk could have managed with saw horses!).  I have previously learned that I am “No. 1 messy painter” – I look at a paint pot and the paint jumps on to my hands (and arms and feet and hair…). And if the paint jumps on me then it only stands to reason that it will fall on the floor also… so, not only do I have to constantly move the ladder, but I must also drag drop sheets with me.

More black trims in bedroom.
More black trims in bedroom.

I set myself a beam or two to undercoat each evening while hubby cooks tea – not a bad deal!  And, when the beams are all undercoated, I begin on the window sills – also black to be covered in white! More masking and many more fiddly bits. I have never loved painting… I love it even less now!!

Oh well, a job must be done…but the top coats will wait until the major paint job gets tackled.

Black replaced with white in bedroom.
Black replaced with white in bedroom.
