Blessings indeed!

Do you remember that old song “Count your many blessings, name them one by one and it will surprise you what the Lord has done” (see below)? When I sit in my bed enjoying my breakfast (oh yes, confession time here – I bring my breakfast to bed to eat because the view is wonderful, and why shouldn’t I?) and look at that view I can’t help but count my blessings.  Oh, no, things haven’t always gone smoothly for me in my life’s journey – has anyone travelled a path that is free from bumps and potholes? But His blessings throughout my journey are paramount and surely worth counting!

Yesterday I wrote a couple of short blogs on my family history.  I am one of the “older generation” now – I have one aunt left in this world. And when I look at my forefathers and mothers and read into their history it becomes obvious that they have passed on a wonderful Christian heritage. I believe that it is largely due to this heritage that I can count my blessings.

Rainbow over Redcliffs
Rainbow over Redcliffs

Another song just came to my mind, “I can see clearly now” – so I listened to it (isn’t YouTube wonderful for some things!). What great words :
I can see clearly now the rain is gone.
I can see all obstacles in my way.
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind.
It’s gonna be a bright (bright)
bright (bright) sunshiny day.

Oh, yes I can make it now the pain is gone.
All of the bad feelings have disappeared.
Here is that rainbow I’ve been praying for.
It’s gonna be a bright (bright)
bright (bright) sunshiny day.

(ooh…) Look all around, there’s nothing but blue skies.
Look straight ahead, there’s nothing but blue skies.

If you are going through a time when you don’t feel the blessings are flowing, stop and count. Yes, I know this is easy for me to say as I sit and look at the at the sea with clouds rolling by overhead, but my journey to this view was not easy in many ways. And even as I have sat and enjoyed the view I have had times when I have had to remind myself to “count my blessings.”

When we fly in a plane we rise above the clouds to blue sky; when the clouds roll away we know there is blue sky… if you are going through a time of testing or trial at present look for the rainbow and count your blessings – know that there is blue sky above the clouds and take a leaf from my mother’s book – on a cloudy day she would always look for that patch of blue sky & believe that it would spread!

Blue skies over Lake Tekapo
Blue skies over Lake Tekapo

Count Your Blessings

When upon life’s billows you are tempest tossed,
When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,
Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord has done. 

Count your blessings, name them one by one,
Count your blessings, see what God has done!
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord has done.

Are you ever burdened with a load of care?
Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?
Count your many blessings, every doubt will fly,
And you will keep singing as the days go by.

When you look at others with their lands and gold,
Think that Christ has promised you His wealth untold;
Count your many blessings. Wealth can never buy
Your reward in heaven, nor your home on high.

So, amid the conflict whether great or small,
Do not be disheartened, God is over all;
Count your many blessings, angels will attend,
Help and comfort give you to your journey’s end.

A thought for you to consider today: My thoughts are filled with positivity and my life is plentiful with prosperity.

