What do you see in a Mirror?

Sunrise – sorry, I just couldn’t include a photo of my “Bleuch!” face 🙂

“Bleuch….! What a face!” Ever said that to yourself as you look in a mirror first thing in the morning & pulled a face to make it even worse?  Yep, I sure do – often! (But my hubby wakes to that face every morning and still loves me so I’m okay!) And how often do you look in a mirror through the day just to check that your hair is still in place or to touch up your lipstick or mascara? Maybe you smile at yourself and say, “Okay, that’ll do” or “I must get a new hairstyle” or “Gosh, that colour suits me.”IMG_4042

But do you actually ever reflect on what is behind that face? The Bible says “Just as water (they didn’t have mirrors way back then!) mirrors your face, so your face mirrors your heart. (Proverbs 27:19 The Message)

I can tell you now that there is a wonderful person behind that face! Some of you may know that (& I hope you do!) but some of you may not fully grasp that fact.  God created each of you in His image (Genesis 1:26) and for His purpose (Philippians 2:13).  Simply put, God created us to be like him, not as another god, but to be a friend, to enjoy life together accomplishing those things that he has given us a passion for.

So what is it that God wants to work through in your life with you? After you’ve got over the early morning “Bleuch!” reflection are you happy with what you see?  Not the physical appearance, but the ‘you’ that is behind those eyes – the ‘you’ that comes from the heart?

I love Psalm 139.  It begins “O Lord, you have searched me and know me…” and then later (verse 23): “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.” Have you discussed this with God recently? Hey, guess what? He’s waiting for you – just take the time, in front of a mirror or not, and ask Him to reveal to you what is behind that reflection in the mirror; what is in your heart.  And don’t be hard on yourself – if there is something there that needs cleaning up, get out that face cloth and soap and clean it up (ask for forgiveness)! If something needs re-styling, get on down to the hairdresser and have it cut, coloured, re-styled or whatever (seek help or guidance)! Or if you’re quite happy with the way you look, give thanks to God and go and make yourself a coffee – or better still, ask someone to join you for one and share your good news with them!

“One small positive thought in the morning can change your whole day.”

