Fruity Pumpkin Cake

With the last two “treats” having been devoured I thought I’d go for something a little more complex and rich this time seeing as diabetic hubby does not appear to have resorted to sticky buns and scones! I spied a pumpkin looking at me so…

IMG_4050I used to make this cake many moons ago and remember it being healthy and happily eaten by children and adults.  I vary the dried fruit according to what I have in the pantry and same for the fruit juice.  This time I blended some stewed apple and added a little cranberry juice to make it up to one cup. The flour, also, can be as you like from all wholemeal to no wholemeal.  (I used 100gm wholemeal & 150gm white flour.)

As I said, the cake is quite rich with all the fruit but delicious served with a spoonful of yoghurt – Greek is my favourite – (or cream if you must!).

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup mashed cold pumpkin
  • 200 gms chopped dried fruit (I used sultanas, apricots, pineapple & dates)
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 cup unsweetened fruit juice
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 250 gm flour (self-raising or add 2 – 3 tsp baking powder)
  • 1 tsp mixed spice

I like to soak fruit in juice overnight or at least for an hour or so to soften. Combine fruit, juice & honey in a saucepan. Bring to boil. Remove from heat.  Add baking soda. Cool. Grease or line tin (I suggest 20cm but mine was larger).

Heat oven to 165degrees C. Beat eggs lightly. Add cold pumpkin and fruit mixture and beat until smooth.  Stir in flour & spice (sifted) and beat until smooth. Bake for 1 – 1 & 1/ 2 hours depending on size of tin.

Enjoy 🙂

PS All the photography on this page and my other pages is my own… I’m thinking maybe I should do a course in “food photography” … or better still check out bloglovin…!

One thought on “Fruity Pumpkin Cake

Comments are closed.