Fruit slice – no cooking

With a diabetic husband and time on my hands I decided it was time to explore some recipes that he is “allowed” to eat and would fill the coffee breaks in his day without resorting to sticky buns and scones.

Here is my first recipe (sorry no photo as it has gone before I thought of taking one). This is so easy to make and totally healthy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dates
  • 1 cup sultanas
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp vanilla essence
  • 2 tbsp carob or cocoa powder
  • stewed apple or similar (enough to mix)

Combine all ingredients except apple in food processor and process until mixture begins to stick together (or gets stuck on blades). This is where I added the apple and continued mixing until the dates, in particular, didn’t stick. Press into container (20cm x 30cm approx) and refrigerate.

I will try other dried fruit & nuts as I have them – apricots & walnuts sound good to me!

2 thoughts on “Fruit slice – no cooking

Comments are closed.